Emeralds

The sun sets slow and the rivers dry,
The blood runs cold and the heart does fly,
The trumpets blow and the cuckoos cry,
When you are in sight;
Catch me and lift me high.
I want to float up the sky,
And if you ever say goodbye
I’ll die.

By a river in the sands,
We could make a home with emeralds,
Of love and care and little fights,
If you be mine;
Catch me and lift me high.
I want to float up the sky,
And if you ever say goodbye
I’ll die.

I’m not a prince to win your heart;
I’ve only words to make a start.
You’ll only know if you give a chance—
You’re my life!
Catch me and lift me high.
I want to float up the sky,
And if you ever say goodbye
I’ll die.

~KMnO4

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

