*The Moonlight Seek*

The moonlight-
What does it seek ?
The autumn breeze-
What does it sing ?
You..
You..
Yes you..
Just you..
You..
You..
Oh you..
Just you..
The moonlight-
What does it seek …?

Early morning,
As the cuckoo cries…
A pang comes by,
And wets my eyes…
A pang comes by,
And wets my eyes…
The clouds swallow,
My dreams today,
The wind robbed me
And flew them away.
The moonlight-
What does it seek …?

In a moonlit night,
The twinkling stars…
Unleash a new magic,
Into my eyes…
Unleash a new magic,
Into my eyes…
My heart,
Flies by,
To a far away land…
To reach my village,
My village courtyard…
The autumn breeze-
What does it sing …?
You…
You…
Yes you…
Just you…
The moonlight-
What does it seek …?
The moonlight-
What does it seek …?

~KMnO4

PS: It is my attempt to translate the song ‘Junake Bisaare ki’. I tried my best. Forgive me if I could not do justice to the song _/\_ .

15 thoughts on “*The Moonlight Seek*

Add yours

    1. Beautifully translated..Great treat for all non assamese fans of Papon.
      If possible, please translate Eibili Muk. Mon moor and Jhoomor.

      Thanks in advance,

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Beautifully written and translated too!. I enjoy the song even more now. Thanks for the translation. I request you to please translate if possible Eibili Muk, Mon mur, Jhoomor and Jai O Kanu Bai Benu .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very beautifully translated. A treat for non assamese Papon fans.
    Now I enjoy the song even more!
    If possible please translate Eibili Muk, Mon mur and Jhoomor.

    Like

      1. I am from Goa.
        Please take your time.
        I got the translation of jhoomor elsewhere.

        Best regards.

        Like

      2. Thanks a lot for the translation of Mon Mur. What a song by Papon !! Once again beautifully translated. The depth of emotion in the unique voice of Papon can now be enjoyed even more.

        Only Eibili Muk remains now.

        Thanks once again.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

